Saint Kitts and Nevis 2015

Saint Kitts and Nevis Capital City

Yearbook 2015

Saint Kitts 2015

Saint Christopher and Nevis. Until 2015, the country had been ruled for two decades by the Labor Party (SKNLP) and its leader Denzil Douglas. In the February election, however, SKNLP was challenged by the Alliance Unity Team, which consisted of the People’s Action Movement (PAM), the Citizens’ Movement (CCM) and the People’s Workers Party (PLP). The latter was formed in 2013 by Sam Condor and Timothy Harris, who then left Prime Minister Douglas’s government.

Of the eleven electoral seats in the National Assembly, seven went to the Unity Team, while SKNLP backed from six to three seats. According to COUNTRYAAH, Basseterre is the capital of St. Kitts and Nevis which is located in North America. Timothy Harris became new Prime Minister and also took over the posts of Finance Minister and Minister of National Security. Before the election, the Douglas government tried to change the boundary between the constituencies, but the opposition managed to stop it.

  • Also see for St. Kitts and Nevis country abbreviations, including geography, history, economy and politics.

In 2007, new elections were held for the post of opposition leader Malcolm Guishard’s replacement. Guishard himself died in June.

Denzil Douglas won the parliamentary elections in 2010, gained a 6-seat majority in parliament and could continue in the prime ministerial post.

In January 2012, Douglas, in his capacity as Finance Minister, succeeded in restructuring the country’s external debt, reducing the debt-to-GDP ratio from 200% to 100%.

Douglas promised during the 2010 election campaign to seek to expand the use of renewable energy sources. In June 2013, a solar panel factory started and in September the first 1MW plant was opened at the island’s airport. At the same time, the OAS published a study recommending St. Kitts to deliver 3-400MW to Puerto Rico through an underwater cable.

Saint Kitts and Nevis Capital City