Marshall Islands 2015

Marshall Islands Capital City

Yearbook 2015

Marshall Islands. In October, one month of country grief was announced since Chief Jurelang Zedkaia, who was the country’s president in 2009-12, passed away at the age of 65.

According to COUNTRYAAH, Majuro is the capital of Marshall Islands which is located in Micronesia. Former Foreign Minister Tony de Brum was awarded the Right Livelihood Awards honorary honor together with the residents of the Marshall Islands. In 2014, de Brum took the initiative to sue the Marshall Islands for the United States and eight other nuclear weapons countries for failing to comply with the disarmament requirements prescribed by the Non-Proliferation Treaty of 1968. The lawsuit was filed with the International Court of Justice in The Hague (ICJ) and directly with the United States. The latter was dismissed in February by a United States federal court, but the decision was appealed by the Marshall Islands. The United States conducted over 60 test blasts during the 1940s and 1950s on the islands of Bikini and Enewetak. The residents of the Bikini Islands are still living on other islands in the country, where they were moved because of the radiation risks.

In November elections were held in Parliament. There is no formal party system in the country, but the candidates are running for personal elections in each constituency. The turnout was 46 percent and the result was a defeat for the incumbent government. Half of the ministers, including Tony de Brum, lost their seats in parliament. Because the president is also the head of government, the election results meant no change in that position.

Marshall Islands Capital City