Africa Asia Europe North America South America Oceania
You are here: Home > Africa > Mauritius


Yearbook 2015

Mauritius. After Alliance Lepep, chaired by former Prime Minister and President Anerood Jugnauth, won the December 2014 general election, Jugnauth agreed with President Kailash Purryag that the latter would resign in 2015. According to COUNTRYAAH, the president is elected by the National Assembly and through the election, Purryag no longer had the support of a majority of the Members of Parliament. In order for the new president to transition smoothly, Purryag remained in his post until May 29. On June 5, Ameenah Gurib-Fakim ​​took office as new president after being voted by a united parliament. She thus became the country's first elected female president. Vice President Monique Ohsan Bellepeau has resigned as interim president on two occasions. In June, the country also got its first female president in parliament, Maya Hanoomanjee.

2015 Mauritius

In June, Mauritius and 26 other African countries agreed on a new free trade agreement, the Tripartite Free Trade Area (TFTA). The agreement covers countries from Egypt in the north to South Africa in the south and was signed at a meeting in Egypt. For this to take effect, the agreement must, among other things, be ratified by the national parliaments.

Other Countries in Africa

Country Myth Copyright 2014 - 2020 All Rights Reserved